YouTube : Joy Orbison – Hyph Mngo

Yass,  after 6 months :  finally another YouTube link from me.
Like the last time, it’s a temporary return to electronic music on the blog. Dubstep !

I’ve been thinking about dubstep and its future a bit these past weeks and am in conflict about it.
For one, I don’t like all the mid range wobble that is being churned out like coming from a production line from the likes of Bar 9, Rusko, Caspa, Crissy Criss and even one of my dubstep heroes : Skream.
Don’t get me wrong : when I’m at a party I feel the need to hear at least one of those metallic (meta-lick heh) anthems or the party doesn’t quite feel complete. But at present, there is just an alarming rate of releases that are probing into this post drum&bass/noise mutant string. Especially at home during private listening sessions I find myself looking for the deeper and experimental records more and more rather than the so called dancefloor anthems.

Skream‘s latest performance in Antwerp brought a balance between the two I suppose (though still relying heavily on the anthems, he did squeeze in tunes such as Spectrasoul‘s “Melodies“).
Today I made the decision that I rather have dubstep go in another direction. 2 Step, wonky and minimal techno are some of the influences I’d like to see dubstep take in and move on. A return to the dark and dubby origins of dubstep such as the earlier Digital Mystikz or Mode Recordings releases would also be more than welcomed. Finally : Elements of garage or deep house should never be forgotten! (look for FaltyDL‘s upcoming release on Planet Mu!)

A perfect example of this is Joy Orbison. His forthcoming release on the epic label Hotflush from Paul Rose (which has been a guarantee for quality music all year such as Pangaea, Scuba, Sigha, Mount Kimbie and Untold) has been made available on YouTube and it is easily THE dubstep track of the summer .
I present to you :

Joy Orbison – Hyph Mngo (HFT009 , September 2009)

Hope you enjoy it and let this be the future of dubstep!
BAGGED!

Leave a Reply

