Untitled! 3 year Anniversary Review

Yes, another edition of untitled! was held this past weekend. 3 years of Untitled! parties were celebrated on friday night with an impressive line-up, the likes of which Belgium has rarely seen.

Digital Mystikz (Mala & Coki) are arguably the most influential artists in the scene with their DMZ label and parties in London.  Pinch has his own renowned label (Tectonic) with some of the strongest releases out this year and is known for his darker and epic sets. Noah D has the party anthem of the year under his belt (seriousss!) and untitled! was the first stop on his European tour.  Headhunter performed a live set (only the second time in Belgium I believe) with visuals. On top of that, we had residents Hijak & Dice & Kastor providing the resident beats. Science are a new up and coming talent from Belgium and were given a shot at closing the event.

Due to an appearance at the local DJ contest (which was won by the way by our local D&B/dubstep heroes Triple C crew (myspace.com/tripleccrew)  we arrived a bit late so apologies to the resident dj’s for missing them. We were just in time to hear Headhunter’s opening beats.
I had seen his life act before (I believe in February when supporting The Bug) and was very impressed with that set. Not long before that, his Nomad LP had dropped on tempa records so the set was filled with stuff from that great LP and some darker tunes (for example from the recent Kryptic Minds Album).  On this occasion though, there was a lot more emphasis on techno influenced dub. Maybe there were some technical difficulties in the beginning of his set but he messed up his opening two mixes I believe. But I’m not one to judge, especially if it’s a live set. After that things smoothed out. Personally, I enjoyed his set. All credit to the man, but I quite enjoy this style as a warm up for the nastier stuff.  ‘Prototypes’ remains one of my favourite dub tunes out there.  The visuals were cool but not essential.  Also, they work a lot better in a very small enviroment of course (which was the case last time I saw him.)

I was very much looking forward to seeing Pinch. Some of his early releases on Planet Mu are what made me fall in love with heavy bass music. There were no real surprises for me as to the quality of the set and the tune selection. Murky and heavy on the sub bass.  Opening with a VIP (?) version of my favourite dubstep tune of all time (‘Rolling with the Punches’) instantly grabbed my fullest attention.  After this I slipped into the party zone for the next several hours.  My only regret is that he didn’t rinse out some of his own tunes. ‘The Punisher’ (another one the best tunes ever) was probably hoping for a bit too much but I did have my heart set on ‘Attack of the Giant Robot Spiders’. Better luck next time! Great performance.

Digital Mystikz are legend. Everyone knows this.  Their records, sets and parties are all essential. It was with much regret that I quickly realised that it was going to be a Mala solo performance.  We had some of the crew dressed up in Spongebob t-shirts and everything (the plan was the bring a large spongebob doll to the party and hand it to Sgt. Pokes, good thing we didn’t bring it in the end.) But Mala just flat-out nailed it.  It was hard, intense and the tune selection was monsters. Loads of dubplates that sounded absolutely bonkers. VIP version of  ‘Changes’ too. It was so intense that I only recorded a single movie during the entire set (look for the link below).  I am not sure yet, but perhaps for me this was the best set I have heard all year (and I’ve heared quite alot this year believe you me).

Hijak was up next providing an intermezzo with jungle tunes from yesteryear. Great break after such an intense set and great time to show off the old dancing moves. Loads of things going on in the venue too with flying balls (this was probably during Mala’s set I don’t really remember). and exploding ribbons and free stuff. Great vibe in there and to everyone who left : Your Loss!
On a side note : people : you’re supposed to knock the balls backwards into the rest of the crowd and not slap it straight back  onto the decks…or atleast that’s how I perceived it.

As much as I enjoyed that break, I couldn’t wait for Noah D to get on stage.  It was worth the wait because Noah D too hit all the right buttons.  VIP version of Serious! and the Untitled! anthem from The Others (forgot the name…) set the room on fire. That thunderous Skream! dubplate also does it time and time again.  The crowd response was great during Noah D. See the movie below.  That’s all I can say really.

I was ready to leave after Noah D , but then Science went on and opened with I think was a VIP version of Breakage – ‘Higher’ , a tune I also always put in my mixes and this convinced me to stay. At first, the mixing was on the slow side but It felt like they speeded it up as the set went along. Great tune selection (am I right when I say they were the only ones that actually played ‘When I look at you’?). And so again we stayed untill the very end. I think we can expect much from these youngsters in the future.

Coki not showing up, it has to be said, was a big disappointment. But after that set from Mala, I can’t say that I’m feeling disappointed right now. The set probably wouldn’t have been much different with Coki anyway (it couldn’t have been much better either). Noah D was a great addition the line-up and I hope the rest of his tour goes as well as the opening party. With Pinch I got what I expected and Headhunter (though not all of the crew agreed with me here) was a great starting act for the evening.
The only real bad thing is, that the next untitled! won’t be until February. But already looking forward to it.
Great night out.

Links to movies :
Mala at Untitled!  Link

Noah D at Untitled!  Link

I still have a movie from Pinch too and a lot of stuff from some of the previous editions (and some d&b stuff too) which I Haven’t got round to uploading yet. I’ll do it as soon as I can anyway.

Leave a Reply

